//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Think of a Number

Think of a Number

John Verdon

Crown Publishing Group

http://www.randomhouse.com/crown/features/think-of-a-number/

Available Everywhere

Arriving in the mail over a period of weeks are taunting letters that end with a simple declaration, “Think of any number…picture it…now see how well I know your secrets.”  Amazingly, those who comply find that the letter writer has predicted their random choice exactly.  For Dave Gurney, just retired as the NYPD’s top homicide investigator and forging a new life with his wife, Madeleine, in upstate New York, the letters are oddities that begin as a diverting puzzle but quickly ignite a massive serial murder investigation.

What police are confronted with is a completely baffling killer, one who is fond of rhymes filled with threats and warnings, whose attention to detail is unprecedented, and who has an uncanny knack for disappearing into thin air.  Even more disturbing, the scale of his ambition seems to widen as events unfold.

Brought in as an investigative consultant, Dave Gurney soon accomplishes deductive breakthroughs that leave local police in awe.  Yet, even as he matches wits with his seemingly clairvoyant opponent, Gurney’s tragedy-marred past rises up to haunt him, his marriage approaches a dangerous precipice, and finally, a dark, cold fear builds that he’s met an adversary who can’t be stopped.

I copied the advertising copy that came with the book I admit it. I have been doing this for years now as a reviewer professionally. I probably have been doing it longer if you count the amount of times you recommend something to a friend. I’m still in absolute shock over this story. I very very much want to do an interview with this author because I need him to explain how he has me so stunned. I know I read the book, but I still can’t believe the ending.

I very rarely allow people to stampede each other to leave my reviews to go buy a book I recommend but stampede right now and find this book because you must read this.

About everythingfittoread

Passionate book reviewer of the ever mobile Everything fit to read book review company. I admit I'm also my only staff member.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

